Toggle accessibility

Heritage

Try it all
THE OLD CEMETERY IN OMIŠ

THE OLD CEMETERY IN OMIŠ

The old cemetery in Omiš with the Bonito-Drašković family mausoleum (dating back to 1630) and the Church of our Lady of Snow built on the foundations of an older Early-Christian chapel, is unique and recognizable for its outdoor tombs with carved inscriptions. The cemetery also boasts 6 ancient Roman sarcophagi with original markings and inscriptions, as well as many tombs of famous Omiš families, the oldest among them dating back to 1515.

Read more
POLJICA SQUARE (EARLY 17th C.)

POLJICA SQUARE (EARLY 17th C.)

The place of the medieval main market, grain trade and fairs. It got its more appealing appearance at the beginning of the 17th century, and it was decorated in 1811 during the regulation of the river bank. The flag pole with the coat of arms of the Venetian governor (Provveditore) Molina (1961) at the centre of the square was also used for the announcement of orders and for public punishment in case of minor offences.

CARALIPEO HOUSE (EARLY 17th C.)

CARALIPEO HOUSE (EARLY 17th C.)

An early Baroque building, one of the first family houses built alongside the western town wall. An example of a two-storey house with elegant balconies, which were built high up on the second storey because of the town walls. There is a memorial plaque on the wall of the house in the honour of Pavle Caralipeo, erected by Ivan Matulić and Ante Benković together with fellow citizens in 1811 for his merits in the regulation of the river bank.

PARISH CHURCH OF ST. MICHAEL (EARLY 17th  C.) WITH THE BELL TOWER (EARLY 18th C.)

PARISH CHURCH OF ST. MICHAEL (EARLY 17th C.) WITH THE BELL TOWER (EARLY 18th C.)

It combines the stylistic features of Gothic art, Renaissance and early Baroque. A lavish portal from the workshop of the Bokanić family from the island of Brač, a window rosetta, the statue of St. Michael and the coat of arms of Omiš dominate the church. The coats of arms of Venetian governors  (provveditore) are located above the side entrance. The new bell tower was built according to the project of the Venetian engineer Giovani Battista Camozzini. The church also contains valuable pieces of religious art.

CHURCH OF THE HOLY SPIRIT (1585)

CHURCH OF THE HOLY SPIRIT (1585)

It was built in place of a Gothic church that was completely renovated in 1585. Located just below the fortifications of Omiš, amidst the medieval administrative buildings of the commune (town loggia and the writing office, and near the Venetian governor’s palace). The altarpiece “The Descent of the Holy Spirit”, was painted by Jacopo Palma Junior (early 17th century).

CHURCH OF ST. ROCCO (16th C.)

CHURCH OF ST. ROCCO (16th C.)

The church of the eponymous brotherhood. Francesco Negri painted the altarpiece “Virgin Mary with Jesus, St. Rocco and St. Sebastian”, for the altar carrying the coat of arms of the Kačić Dukes.

St. Rocco and St. Sebastian are patron saints against the plague, which threatened the town on several occasions.